Kansas City Chiefs, The last dynasty in the Super Bowl era

The Kansas City Chiefs have reached their fourth Super Bowl in the last five years and win this Sunday, February 11 when they face the San Francisco 49ers in the LVIII edition that will take place at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas, Nevada; they will be both the first two-time champion in the last 20 years, and the first team to win three Vince Lombardi Trophies in five years during this millennium.

With quarterback Patrick Mahomes, tight end Travis Kelce and head coach Andy Reid as the faces of the latest NFL dynasty, we’ve taken a look back at the team that has dominated every decade of professional football in the United States since the NFL-AFL championship game was created in 1966 It was called the Super Bowl and was consolidated with the merger of both leagues for the 1970 season.

Green Bay Packers – 1960s

The beginning of what we all know today as the Super Bowl was with the great dominance of the legendary Green Bay Packers of head coach Vince Lombardi and quarterback Bart Starr, who along with a large core of players not only won the first and second editions, but had also won the NFL championships in the previous year (1965). winning three seasons in a row.

Speaking of the Super Bowls won in the 60s, the ‘Cheese Heads’ defeated the Kansas City Chiefs in the first edition by a score of 35-10 and the Oakland Raiders 33-14 in the second edition, due to this dominance the Trophy that is awarded every year was named in honor of the head coach Vince Lombardi.

Pittsburgh Steelers – 1970s

After the merger of the NFL with the AFL in the 1970 season, one of the teams that went from the old National Football League to the nascent AFC was precisely the Pittsburgh Steelers and with that their history of defeats changed drastically.

The team of the ‘Terrible Towels’ known for a fierce defense dubbed the ‘Iron Curtain’ Kansas City Chiefs and with Chuck Noll as head coach and Terry Bradshaw as quarterback won four Super Bowls in the 70s: IX (16-6 to the Minnesota Vikings), X (21-17 to the Dallas Cowboys), XIII (35-31 to the Dallas Cowboys) and XIV (31-19 to the Los Angeles Rams).

San Francisco 49ers – 80’s

In 1979 a young head coach named Bill Walsh decided to pick a diminutive quarterback from the historic University of Notre Dame in the third round of the draft, his name, Joe Montana.

With this duo, the mythical ‘West Coast Offense’ developed and the San Francisco 49ers were the masters of the 80s with four Super Bowls won: XVI (26-21 to the Cincinnati Bengals), XIX (38-16 to the Miami Dolphins), XXIII (20-16 to the Cincinnati Bengals) and XXIV (55-10 to the Denver Broncos).

Dallas Cowboys – 90’s

Oil tycoon Jerry Jones bought the NFL’s most popular team, the Dallas Cowboys, who had already won two Super Bowls in the 1970s but had fallen into decline in the 1980s.

The first thing he did was fire legendary head coach Tom Landry and put in his place Jimmy Johnson, who with great draft picks that included the ‘Triplets’, Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith and Michael Irvin returned to the top in the 90s, winning three Super Bowls in four years: XXVII (52-17 to the Buffalo Bills), XXVIII (30-13 to the Buffalo Bills) and XXX (27-17 to the Pittsburgh Steelers).

New England Patriots – 2000s and 2010s

In the opening season of the new millennium, 2000, a young but experienced strategist named Bill Belichick decided to choose an unknown quarterback named Tom Brady in the sixth round of the draft to be the backup to star Drew Bledsoe.

In the 2001 season, Bledsoe had an injury that almost cost him his life in week 2 against the New York Jets, with no other alternative Brady came on and there began a completely unexpected fairy account that gave us the winningest duo in the history of this sport at the professional level.

Together, in the first two decades of the 21st century. They led the New England Patriots to six Super Bowls in 20 years together: XXXVI (20-17 to the St. Louis Rams), XXXVIII (32-29 to the Carolina Panthers), XXXIX (24-21 to the Philadelphia Eagles), XLIX (28-24 to the Seattle Seahawks), LI (34-28 to the Atlanta Falcons) and LIII (13-3 to the Los Angeles Rams).

Article Source:

Leave a Comment