Republic of Ireland vs France LIVE: Irish urged to ‘write their own history for Euro 2024 qualifier against Kylian Mbappe and co – UK kick-off time, team news

Yet World Cup finalists France couldn’t represent a tougher first test, with Les Bleus cruising to a 4-0 victory over the Netherlands in Paris.

Kylian Mbappe scored twice on his first appearance as France captain to ruin Ronald Koeman’s second debut as Oranje boss.

The Republic of Ireland vs France: How to follow 

This Euro 2024 qualifier will be played on Monday, March 27.

The Group B game will be played at the Aviva Stadium, in Dublin.

It will be broadcast live on Viaplay Sports with kick-off set for 7:45 pm.

Fans can subscribe to Viaplay for £14.99 per month and can watch the game on their TV or website.

The Republic of Ireland vs France: What has been said?

“These are the nights we want to have as a group,” said Dara O’Shea.

“We’ve watched back those nights as fans, some of the lads have played in those and can show their expertise and knowledge and share that with us.

“But yes, we want to write our own history. We want to go out and put a good performance in and do the country proud.

“Every game is an opportunity, but when you come up against a side that is as good as France and played in a World Cup final recently, it’s a massive opportunity for ourselves.

“At the end of the day, we all want to play against the best and be the best at some stage and be the best we can be in our career, so games like these are games that the players really relish and look forward to.”

The Republic of Ireland vs France: Team news 

Both Wesley Fofana and William Saliba have been forced to withdraw from the France squad through injuries.

The Chelsea and Arsenal defenders picked up knocks before the international break with Monaco’s Axel Disasi and Nice’s Jean-Clair Todibo coming into the squad.

Republic of Ireland squad:

  • Goalkeepers: Gavin Bazunu (Southampton), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (Bournemouth).
  • Defenders: Nathan Collins (Wolves), Dara O’Shea (WBA), Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City), John Egan (Sheffield United), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Atletico Madrid), Robbie Brady (Preston NE), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Darragh Lenihan (Middlesborough), Ryan Manning (Swansea City).
  • Midfielders: Josh Cullen (Burnley), Jeff Hendrick (Reading), Jayson Molumby (WBA), Alan Browne (Preston NE), Will Smallbone (Stoke City), Jason Knight (Derby County), Sammie Szmodics (Blackburn Rovers).
  • Forwards: Evan Ferguson (Brighton), Michael Obafemi (Burnley), Callum O’Dowda (Cardiff City), Troy Parrott (Preston NE), Chiedozie Ogbene (Rotherham United), Mikey Johnston (Vitória Guimaraes SC).

France squad: 

  • Goalkeepers: Alphonse Areola (West Ham), Mike Maignan (AC Milan), Brice Samba (Lens)
  • Defenders: Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid), Axel Disasi (Monaco), Theo Hernandez (AC Milan), Ibrahima Konate (Liverpool), Jules Kounde (Barcelona), Benjamin Pavard (Bayern Munich), Dayot Upamecano (Bayern Munich), Jean-Clair Todibo (Nice)
  • Midfielders: Youssouf Fofana (Monaco), Adrien Rabiot (Juventus), Aurélien Tchouameni (Real Madrid), Jordan Veretout (OM), Khéphren Thuram (Nice)
  • Forwards: Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich), Olivier Giroud (AC Milan), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico), Randal Kolo Muani (Frankfurt), Kylian Mbappe (PSG), Marcus Thuram (Monchengladbach), Moussa Diaby (Leverkusen)

source link

Leave a Comment